Register

Freezing Paella

For all refugees from the old Beeb Food Boards :-)
Chill out and chat with the foodie community or swap top tips.
NOTE: CHATTERBOX IS IN THIS FORUM

Moderators: karadekoolaid, THE MOD TEAM, Stokey Sue, Gillthepainter

Freezing Paella

Postby Gruney2 » Thu Aug 12, 2021 8:50 am

It's that time of year when I start to fancy paella. It somehow doesn't feel right to make a single portion, and I'm wondering about freezing three or four portions. I've researched online and got mixed messages - some yes, but importantly, from a Delia site - no. Any t &t views, please - and also chilling for next night? I'm pretty sure it wouldn't work for shellfish - but mine are usually chicken and chorizo based.

Re: Freezing Paella

Postby Suelle » Thu Aug 12, 2021 9:45 am

I've no experience of freezing, but I just wanted to say that I find paellas and risottos the easiest rice dishes to make in single portions. Much simpler than trying to cook a single portion of plain rice, by the absorption method - I find this next to impossible.

You wouldn't be wasting much if you made two portions and froze one, to see if it worked for you.

I think the problem would be that traditionally these dishes are relatively wet, so the rice might go on absorbing the liquid while it cooled and then was frozen, leaving you with rice which was too mushy when thawed.
Traditional home baking, and more:
http://mainlybaking.blogspot.co.uk/

Postby Gruney2 » Thu Aug 12, 2021 10:37 am

Thanks Sue.

Postby Stokey Sue » Thu Aug 12, 2021 10:38 am

I would find paella (unlike risotto) very difficult to make in a single portion, as the joy of paella is the variety of bits and bobs you add, and by the time you have added some chorizo, a bit of chicken and some seafood you end up with more than one serving